Tartu String Quartet

  • Thursday, 12.04
  • 18:00
  • Tartu, Vanemuise kontserdimaja
  • Chamber concert



Kristel Eeroja-Põldoja (violin),
Kadri Palu (violin)
Kadri Rehema (viola),
Reet Mets (cello)

Garrop. String Quartet No. 3 “Gaia”
Schubert. String Quartet No. 14 in D minor “Death and the Maiden”

Work of art: Kaljo Põllu. “Taevalik Maailma Esiema” (Heavenly Foremother of the World, 1978)

Introduction by art historian Aleksandra Murre

Gaia is a piece where the goddess of the Earth from Greek mythology cries over the environmental pollution caused by the civilisation of today. The interesting juxtaposition is the bridge across two centuries – Stacy Garrop, a contemporary composer from the United States, expresses heartache
over the downfall of the environment, while Schubert shows the distinctively Romantic sorrow over the
ephemeral and fragile nature of young lives.

In cooperation with the Art Museum of Estonia

We use cookies on this site (website statistics).
Accept cookies No, thank you Privacy policy