Concert series „Beethoven 250“ Michael Foyle (violin) Maxim Shchura (piano)

  • Thursday, 28.11
  • 19:00
  • Jõhvi, Jõhvi kontserdimaja
  • SA Eesti Kontsert



Michael Foyle (violin)
Maxim Shchura (piano)

Beethoven. Violin Sonatas No 4 A-minor op. 23, No 6 A-major op. 30/1 and No. 9 op. 4 (the Kreutzer Sonata)

The sonatas by Beethoven created for the violin and piano culminates with his penultimate work in this genre, the “Kreutzer Sonata” composed in 1803 in Vienna. The work is the most extensive of the composer’s piano and violin sonatas, presenting extremely high demands on the performers as well. As a violin soloist, Beethoven considered the virtuoso of George Polgreen Bridgetower, however, the author disagreed with him in terms of the performance of the work, and so the composer devoted this work to the violin virtuoso Rudolph Kreutzer instead.

The co-operation between Michael Foyle and Maxim Shchura began in 2012. After the London debut, the Daily Telegraph and Classical Source described them as great duo partners. In 2015, Duo Foyle-Shchura won the Salieri-Zinetti International Chamber Music Competition and Beethoven Piano Society of Europe Duo Competition.

We use cookies on this site (website statistics).
Accept cookies No, thank you Privacy policy