From hand to hand

  • Sunday, 1.10
  • 17:00
  • Tartu, Vanemuise kontserdimaja
  • Classical music
  • SA Eesti Kontsert



Vanemuine Symphony Orchestra
Hans Christian Aavik (violin)
Conductor Mihhail Gerts

Mendelssohn-Bartholdy. Overture “Meeresstille und glückliche Fahrt” Op. 27
Bruch. Violin concerto No. 1 in G minor
Tobias/Tubin. Prelude and Fugue in D minor
Tubin. Symphony No. 7

The festival’s final concert is supported by the idea of consistency. It includes pieces from composers whose works form notional links in a chain of predecessors and successors. The exceptional interest of Eduard Tubin in the work of his predecessor, Rudolf Tobias, is evident from Tubin´s orchestrations of Tobias´ works. By the time at which he wrote his Symphony no 7, Tubin had reached the level of a master, composing the classic symphony.

Max Bruch, another classic and a great admirer of the talent of Felix Mendelssohn, dubbed the Mozart of the nineteenth century, was one of the most important composers in Berlin’s music scene when Rudolf Tobias lived there. Hans Christian Aavik steps up as the soloist for the Max Bruch violin concerto.

In cooperation with the Vanemuine Symphony Orchestra

We use cookies on this site (website statistics).
Accept cookies No, thank you Privacy policy