Rudolf Tobias 150

  • Friday, 16.06
  • 18:00
  • Haapsalu, Haapsalu toomkirik
  • Classical music
  • SA Eesti Kontsert



Estonian National Male Choir
Piret Aidulo (organ)
Conductor Mikk Üleoja

Tobias, Kapp, Kreek

Rudolf Tobias spent his youth in Lääne County and Haapsalu. He was the first Estonian to achieve the academic degree of composer. He is the author of the first Estonian symphonic piece (overture “Julius Caesar”), the first cantata (“Johannes Damascenus”), the first piano concerto, the first piano sonata, the first ever string quartet and the first oratorio (“Jonah’s Mission”). The evening celebrates the one hundred and fiftieth birthday of the first great composer in Estonian national music culture: Rudolf Tobias.

The programme of the Estonian romantic choir music includes also the phenomenal pieces like “As a Deer” and “Know Ye Not”, both by Tobias.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy.